A REAL FAIRY-TALE (excerpt from a radio-play)

-SCENE 5-

NARRATOR: IT’S A BEAUTIFUL EARLY MORNING WITH THE SUN UP IN THE SKY AND COCK THAT BEGINS ITS WAKE UP SONG. (SOUND ON THE b/g). CLEARANCE IS UP BEFORE HER HOST. SHE OPENS HER EYES, LOOKS AROUND AND JUMPS FROM THE BED LIKE AN ARROW.

 CLEARANCE: Oh, dear…where am I? Am I dreaming again? Where is Voice?

Voice, where are you?

(NO ANSWER; AGAIN):

Voice, where are you? You know I am totally lost without your help…(SHE BEGINS TO CRY) Where are you hiding?

VOICE: Hey, don’t cry! I am here…I’m here…

CLEARANCE: Oh, I’ve missed you so much! Why did you leave me alone? Why did I have to endure such tragedy??? You weren’t there for me…

VOICE: C., I’m sometimes crashed by your false thought…by you dangerous mind. Why did you decide to return, to give up fighting?

CLEARANCE: Oh, Voice, I was so scared! I still am. And I don’t know what to do.

I was terrified about the thought that I will have to endure such miserable experiences…I just wanted to go back there…up there.

VOICE: But I explained it to you that it can’t be possible such thing. You need to experience some, let’s say, unpleasant things, as to get the beautiful ones…

CLEARANCE: But I’m so young for that…

VOICE: You have chosen your own time. Nobody forced you…You have chosen…

CLEARANCE: I’m even ashamed of this woman that brought me into her home. How am I suppose to speak to her?

VOICE: You will tell her that you thank her for her kindness…and explain that…you had a moment of unconscious, you fainted, bad weather started and you were found in that position.

CLEARANCE: Oh, I don’t know…I’m so ashamed…

(A KNOCK ON THE DOOR- SOUND ON THE b/g)

(©Ana-Lucretia Nedelcu/LiterAnART)

Leave a Reply

